UCLA JOINT SEMINARS IN NEUROSCIENCE

For a list of past Joint Seminars visit here.

To view some of our past Joint Seminars, please visit us on YouTube.

SPRING QUARTER 2018
Unless noted otherwise, the seminars will be held 12:00pm,
in the Neuroscience Research Building Auditorium.

 April 3, 2018

Charles H. (Tom) Sawyer Distinguished Lecture

ALLAN E. HERBISON, Ph.D. (Hosted by Paul Micevych and LNE; pmicevych@mednet.ucla.edu)
Centre for Neuroendocrinology, University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand

“Generating Episodic Activity in the Neuroendocrine Hypothalamus for Fertility”

April 10, 2018
 

SCOTT RUSSO, Ph.D. (Hosted by Pingping Zhao and Carrie Bearden; ppzhaoion@gmail.com; CBearden@mednet.ucla.edu)

Center for Affective Neuroscience, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York, New York

“Motivational Circuitry of Aggression”

April 17, 2018

KENNETH KOSIK, M.D. (Hosted by S. Thomas Carmichael; SCarmichael@mednet.ucla.edu)

Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, University of California, Santa Barbara

“The Earliest Decisions in Neural Development”

April 24, 2018

**NRB Auditorium at 10am

TOMÁS J. RYAN, Ph.D. (Hosted by David Glanzman; glanzman@ucla.edu)

Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience, Dublin, Ireland

 “Information Storage in Memory Engrams”

May 1, 2018

ELLEN LUMPKIN, Ph.D. (Hosted by Stephanie White; sawhite@ucla.edu)

Departments of Physiology and Cellular Biophysics & Dermatology, Columbia University, New York, New York

“Mechanisms of Neurotransmission in Mammalian Touch Receptors”

May 8, 2018

A. DAVID REDISH, Ph.D. (Hosted by H. Tad Blair; blair@psych.ucla.edu)

Department of Neuroscience, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota

“The Neurophysiology of Decision-Making: Information Processing in Mice, Rats, and Humans”

May 14, 2018

**NRB Auditorium on Monday at 4pm

The Brain Research Institute Twenty-Ninth Annual H.W. Magoun Lecture

DAVID S. EISENBERG, D. Phil. (Hosted by Felix Schweizer; felixs@ucla.edu)
Departments of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Biological Chemistry, University of California, Los Angeles

“The Amyloid State of Proteins: Reversible Functional Amyloid vs. Irreversible Pathogenic Amyloid”

May 22, 2018 

BRADLEY SCHLAGGAR, M.D., Ph.D. (Hosted by Jesse Rissman; rissman@psych.ucla.edu)

Departments of Neurology, Radiology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Neuroscience, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, Missouri

“Leveraging Neuroimaging Data and Systems Neuroscience for Prediction in Children with Tourette Syndrome”

May 29, 2018

The Annual Brain Research Institute and Molecular Biology Institute Joint Lecture

ANGELIQUE BORDEY, Ph.D. (Hosted by Ye Zhang; yezhang@ucla.edu)
Departments of Neurosurgery, and Cellular & Molecular Physiology, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, Connecticut

“Understanding How mTOR Hyperactivity Leads to Epilepsy and Behavioral Deficits”

June 5, 2018

The New Brain Research Institute Member Introductions Lecture

“Speakers and Titles to be Determined” 

If you would like to meet with a speaker, please contact the host listed above.