Mission Statement and Goals:

We propose a new affinity group to encourage transdisciplinary research and to train pre- and postdoctoral students in neuromodulation interventions for neuropsychiatric disorders.  The goal of the affinity group will be to use these interventions to enhance understanding of the pathophysiology of these illnesses and develop novel therapeutic interventions for these conditions.  The faculty for this affinity group will be drawn primarily from the new Neuromodulation Division of the Semel Institute that brings together research programs and experts from the School of Medicine Departments including Neurology, Psychiatry, Neurosurgery, as well as the School of Engineering.  These faculty (many of whom are listed below) bring together common interests in understanding, utilizing and developing neuromodulatory methods for individualized treatment of psychiatric and neurological disorders.

Affinity Group Participants:

James Bisley, PhD (Neurobiology)

Alexander Bystritsky (Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences)

Ian Cook, MD (Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences)

Randall Espinoza, MD, MPH (Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences)

Itzhak Fried, MD (Neurosurgery)

Neil Harris, , PhD (Neurosurgery)

Marc Heiser

Aimee Hunter, Assistant Professor (Semel Resnick)

Marco Iacoboni, PhD (Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences)

David Krantz, MD, PhD (Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences)

Jean-Philippe Langevin, MD (Neurosurgery)

Andrew Leuchter, PhD (Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences)

Michael Levine, PhD (Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences)

Sandra Loo, PhD (Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences)

Dejan Markovic, Professor (Electrical Engineering)

James McGough, MD (Clinical Psychiatry)

Nader Pouratian, PhD (Neurosurgery)

Nanthia Suthana, PhD (Neurosurgery)

Allan Wu, MD (Neurology)


How to Join:

Andrew Leuchter, MD
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
57-456 Semel
Mail Code: 175919
Phone: 310-825-0207; Fax: 310-825-7642

Nanthia Suthana, Ph.D
Assistant Researcher, Department of Neurosurgery
300 Stein Plaza, Suite 562
Mail Code: 690119
Phone: 310-794-4021