Inner Ear Affinity Group

Mission and Goals:

The senses of hearing and balance play crucial roles in our lives as they help us orient ourselves in space, provide us with crucial information for locating objects and events, and provide us with a means of communicating with each other. The first step in the processing of auditory and vestibular information occurs in the inner ear, an organ whose functioning is largely not understood to this day. There are a number of research groups in UCLA, in a wide range of departments, studying different aspects of the inner ear, from mechanics, biophysics, cellular biology, to more clinical applications. The affinity group provides a chance for us to meet regularly and exchange ideas with scientist from very different backgrounds. We meet for a monthly journal club, at which members present on their recent research; we also invite outside speakers to give seminars on related topics.

Affinity Group Participants:

Dolores Bozovic (bozovic@physics.ucla.edu)

Nasser A. Farahbakhsh (nasserf@physci.ucla.edu)

Alan Grinnell (agrinnell@mednet.ucla.edu)

Larry F. Hofman (lfh@ucla.edu)

Vincente Honrubia (vh@ucla.edu)

Ivan Lopez (ivan@hnsurg.medsch.ucla.edu)

Walter Metzner (metzner@ucla.edu)

Peter Narins (pnarins@ucla.edu)

Felix E. Schweizer (felixs@ucla.edu)

Yvonne Sininger (ysininger@mednet.ucla.edu)

David Strelioff (dstrelioff@mednet.ucla.edu)

Post-docs:

Marcos Gridi-Papp (mgpapp@ucla.edu)

Kota Kobayashi (kobayash@ucla.edu)

Graduate students:

Victoria Arch (varch@ucla.edu)

Dylan Hirsch-Shell (dylanh@ucla.edu)

Rebecca Hu (planet2@ucla.edu)

Albert Kao (albertkao826@gmail.com)

Erika Nelson (erika@physics.ucla.edu)

Yuki Quinones (yukiq@ucla.edu)

Gina Rinetti (grinetti@mednet.ucla.edu)

Elliott Strimbu (strimbu@physics.ucla.edu)

Diane Su (diane.su@gmail.com)

Undergraduates:

Tobias Falzone (falztobias@gmail.com)

Rashid Williams-Garcia (rwgarcia@ucla.edu)

Xochitl Williams-Garcia (xochitlg@ucla.edu)

How to Join

Dolores Bozovic
Dept. of Physics and Astronomy
Knudsen Hall, 3-112
(310) 825-6176
bozovic@physics.ucla.edu