The three stages of Spanish psychiatry in the 20th century


History of Medicine Unit, Psychiatry Department, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Antonio Palimino 8, 5 izq., 28015, Madrid, Spain
Tel/Fax. 91-5441266


Three stages (with quite different characteristics) can be distinguished in Spanish psychiatry throughout the 20th century.

The first one comprises from the beginning of the century to the Civil War (1936-1939). The second one corresponds to Franco's period (1939-1975). The third one includes the democratic stage (the last quarter of the century).

This paper summarizes their main features, and studies the general evolution of foreign scientific influences, psychopathological and therapeutical trends, professional institutions, legislation and organisation of psychiatric care... The aim of the paper is to state clearly the essential lines of development of modern, scientific and professional psychiatry in Spain, underlining, through a global approach, its peculiarities as well as its relations and differences with psychiatric evolution in other European countries.


Panel 5B   (Classification)
Wednesday, 15 September 1999

The Neurosciences and Psychiatry: Crossing the Boundaries

Joint Congress of the European Association for the History of Psychiatry (EAHP), the European Club for the History of Neurology (ECHN), and the International Society for the History of the Neurosciences (ISHN)

Zurich and Lausanne, Switzerland, 13-18 September 1999