Site Search

Joint Seminars in Neuroscience

SPRING QUARTER 2014

Sponsored by The Brain Research Institute, 
The Semel Institute for Neuroscience & Human Behavior,
and the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA 

The Neuroscience Research Building Auditorium (NRB); Unless Indicated Otherwise,** 4:00 p.m. prompt

April 1, 2014
Charles H. (Tom) Sawyer Distinguished Lecture
DAVID CREWS, Ph.D.
(Host: Art Arnold and the LNE; arnold@ucla.edu)
Ashbel Smith Professor of Zoology and Psychology, University of Texas at Austin
“Sex, Nature and Nurture: Ancestral Exposure Modifies Sex Differences in Stress Reactivity”

April 8, 2014
AHMAD HARIRI, Ph.D.
(Hosts: Anne Andrews & Susan Bookheimer; aandrews@mednet.ucla.edu)
2000 Interdepartmental Graduate Program for Neuroscience UCLA Alumni
Department of Psychology & Neuroscience, and Institute for Genome Sciences & Policy, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina
“Above it All: Epigenetic Regulation of Behaviorally and Clinically Relevant Human Brain Function”

April 15, 2014
YI ZUO, Ph.D.
(Host: Carlos Portera-Cailliau; CPCailliau@mednet.ucla.edu)
Department of Molecular Cell and Developmental Biology, University of California, Santa Cruz
“Synapse Reorganization in the Living Brain”

April 22, 2014
NICOLA J. ALLEN, Ph.D.
(Host: Baljit Khakh; bkhakh@mednet.ucla.edu)
Molecular Neurobiology Laboratory, Salk Institute for Biological Sciences, La Jolla, California
“Astrocyte Regulation of Neuronal Glutamate Receptors”

April 29, 2014
YUH NUNG JAN, Ph.D.
(Host: Alvaro Sagasti; sagasti@mcdb.ucla.edu)
Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Department of Physiology, University of California, San Francisco
“Dendrites: From Form to Function”

May 6, 2014
LESLIE G. UNGERLEIDER, Ph.D.
(Host: Barbara Knowlton; Knowlton@psych.ucla.edu)
NIH Distinguished Investigator, Chief, Laboratory of Brain and Cognition, National Institute of Mental Health, Bethesda, Maryland
The Integrative Center for Learning and Memory Distinguished Lecture
“Functional Architecture of Face Processing in the Primate Brain”

May 13, 2014
DANA SMALL, Ph.D.
(Host: Amy Rowat; rowat@ucla.edu)
Departments of Psychiatry and of Psychology; The John B. Pierce Laboratory, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, Connecticut
“Creating Flavor Percepts and Preferences”

May 20, 2014
The 22nd Annual Samuel Eiduson Student Lecture
SATORU MIURA, Ph.D.
(Host: Mike Levine; mlevine@mednet.ucla.edu)
Graduate, Department of Biological Chemistry Ph.D. Program, Zipurksy Lab, UCLA, 2013
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Scanziani Lab, HHMI, UCSD
“No Two Neurons Are the Same: Unique Identities for Neural Circuit Assembly”

May 27, 2014
LOREN FRANK, Ph.D.
(Host: Peyman Golshani; pgolshani@mednet.ucla.edu)
Center for Integrative Neuroscience and Department of Physiology, UCSF
“Neural Substrates of Memory and Decision Making”

June 3, 2014
The Brain Research Institute Twenty-Fifth Annual H.W. Magoun Lecture
ALCINO J. SILVA, Ph.D.
(Host: Chris Evans; cevans@ucla.edu)
Departments of Neurobiology, Psychiatry & Biological Sciences, and Psychology; Integrative Center for Learning & Memory, UCLA
“The Exciting Road from Mechanisms of Learning to the Treatment of Cognitive Disorders”

If you would like to meet with a speaker, please contact the host listed above.




 
 

Upcoming EventsSupport the BRI!

Upcoming EventsNEUROSCIENCE NEWS HIGHLIGHTS
Current Edition of Neuroscience News

Upcoming EventsFEATURED ARTICLE
Sleep well, breathe easy - Distinguished Professor Ronald Harper to deliver 21st annual H.W. Magoun Lecture

BRI NewsIN THE NEWS
 One Animal Researcher Refuses to Hide

 BRI News Archive

 Newsroom.ucla.edu

Upcoming EventsUPCOMING EVENTS

 Joint Seminars in Neuroscience

 Neuroscience Seminars biweekly calendar